ICO

I don’t think I’ve posted much about my first MA project, so here it goes. The project is based on the RSA Students Design Awards (http://sda.thersa.org/en/), so we had to select one of the various briefs that they give and use it to develop our project. I selected the AfricaPack brief which gives this challenge: Improve the way medicines are protected, dispensed, distributed and/or taken into Sub Saharan Africa. Frightening right? That was my first thought when I read that brief, and I still feel overwhelmed by it from time to time. I still don’t know very well why I picked this particular brief, but I think that being afraid of it is what gave me the courage to step into something new and unknown (how poetic of me).

To start somewhere I began by doing mind maps about what I know, what I don’t know and what I should know. After this I had a clear idea of what I needed to research (diseases, medicine, Africa, etc) and as my research progressed I decided to focus on counterfeit of malaria medicines.  After doing more research, interviews and brainstorming I came up with a design solution: using a numeric code and a graphic symbol in a scratch-sticker which will be displayed on medicines and will allow people to authenticate their products through SMS messages. Although the idea of using codes already is already in use by Sproxil and MPedigree, the addition of a graphic symbol as an extra security element has the objective to make the codes harder to counterfeit. Thus ICO was born. Now you’ll see the development of the brand I created for this service.

logo blog-01

 

logo blog-03

My aim when designing the logo was to come up with something warm and friendly, a logo that the end-users would trust and make them feel secured whenever they saw it.

logo blog-04

Option 3 was the one I chose, as it accomplishes every attribute that I wanted the logo to communicate. Its friendly, warm, it looks like a African symbol and most important I wanted it to be different from the competitors logos. Below is the final logo after a few adjustments.

 

logo blog-05

 

logo blog-06

Stationary

This is it for now, another day I’ll make a post explaining how the service works. Feel free to give me your feedback!

Leave a Reply

